top of page

The Perrie Lectures 2024

Recruiting, Training and Retaining Great Prison Officers - 12th June

Newbold Revel - Rugby
Newbold Revel


09:15-10:00             Arrival and registration

10:00-10:05             Welcome                

                                              Pia Sinha

10:05-10:35             Training prison officers for excellence in Norway

                                               Berit Johnsen

10:35-11:05             The Good Prison Officer & Rehabilitation: An Inside Perspective 

                                              Andi Brierley and Max Dennehy

11:05-11:20             Audience Q&A

                                              Berit Johnsen, Andi Brierley and Max Dennehy

11:20-11:30             Break

11:30-12:00             How organisations can protect and develop the wellbeing and resilience of staff

                                             Helen Wakeling and Georgia Barnett

12:00-12:30            Lessons on retention: how prisons can stop losing some of their best staff

                                             Natasha Porter

12:30-12:45             Audience Q&A 

                                            Helen Wakeling, Georgia Barnett and Natasha Porter

12:45-13:45             Lunch

13:45-13:55             Perrie Award and Perrie Essay prize

13:55-14:25             Transforming a prison through kindness

                                            Ralph Lubkowski

14:25-14:55             Reflections from the front line 

                                            John Sampson, Claudia Reynolds, and Marc Conway


14:55-15:00             Conclusion and thanks

                                             Pia Sinha

About The Perrie Lectures

The Perrie Lectures is an annual event which has the purpose of stimulating dialogue between criminal justice organisations, the voluntary sector and all those with an academic, legal or practical interest in people in prison and their families.

The Perrie Lectures are named in honour of  Bill Perrie, who retired from the Prison Service in 1978.  He worked as a prison governor for 32 years, latterly at HMPs Hull, Long Lartin, and Winson Green, Birmingham. A sound practitioner, Bill contributed much to the development of hostels, working out schemes, and regimes for long term prisoners.  Bill attended the lectures every year until his death in 1997.

Since 1995, the Perrie Award has been presented annually during the day of the lectures.  It has been given by the  Perrie Lectures Committee to the person who has done most to promote an understanding of the work of the Prison Service, and pushed forward the development of penal policy.

Through the Perrie Lectures and the Perrie Award, it is hoped that the care of people in prison can be improved, and penal policy, in its broadest sense, advanced.

The text of the Perrie Lectures is produced in full as a special edition of the Prison Service Journal.

The Perrie Lectures Committee is independent and non-profit making and is currently made up of the following members:

The Perrie Lectures Committee 

Rachel Bell (chair)

Ministry of Justice

Sarah Matheve

Koestler Trust

Mike Kirby


Femi Laryea-Adekimi

Prison Reform Trust

Pauline Austin

New Bridge Foundation

Ian Dixon


Anita Dockley


Carlene Dixon


Ralph Lubkowski

Sodexo Justice Services

Martin Kettle

HM Inspectorate of Prisons


Sarah Tiffin

Arden University


Mary Haley

HMP Grendon


Judith Feline



Lesley Dixon



Kam Sarai



Colin Archer



Kate Gooch

University of Bath


Rosie Meek

Royal Holloway, University of London




Third Sector




Buy one get one free applies to all ticket types


Success! Message received.

bottom of page